East Central Florida Regional Resilience Collaborative

The East Central Florida Regional Resilience Collaborative was established on May 15, 2019 by unanimous vote on a Memorandum of Understanding by the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council.  The Collaborative developed and identified three pillars under the resilience umbrella: Health + Equity (people), Built Infrastructure + Natural Environment (places), Economic Resilience (prosperity).  Woven throughout those pillars are goals that include reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, identifying risks and vulnerabilities and an development of additional sustainability goals throughout the region.  The memorandum embodies the framework and lays the foundation for structure and partnership creating a unified vision toward a more resilient region. Throughout the summer, the Collaborative will continue to build capacity and form partnerships. Formalized agreements have already been established with Orange and Volusia Counties, the City of Titusville, the City of Satellite Beach, the City of Rockledge and the City of Indian Harbour Beach.  An official signing ceremony will be scheduled in the fall.

In June, the Regional Planning Council, the Collaborative and Steve Adams from the Institute for Sustainable Communities, conducted two workshops in the eight-county, 78-city region to engage and inform local staff on the collaborative progress, the national state of the art perspective, benefits and outcomes. True to workshop form, exercises included prioritizing topic areas, identifying tools, assets and gaps to address prioritized areas and, based on those results, what services and outcomes should advance. The workshop results will provide the foundation for a collaborative strategic plan.

For additional information on the East Central Florida Regional Resilience Collaborative please visit the website at https://www.ecfrpc.org/resiliencecollaborative.